introduction, first impressions, questions

Hi everyone

I have been silently lurking and reading the forums for a couple of weeks.. and finally have something worthwhile to post.

I am Bert from Rotterdam, the netherlands and last friday I bought the M200!

I have been doubting to purchase this machine for a couple of weeks. I had 2 options for distinct reasons. An ultimaker original or the M200.

I have some experience with the ultimaker being a teacher in the digital station at an art academy one day a week and my 'doubt' mainly was

which direction to take; buy an ultimaker and start tinkering on the machine, investing time (and play) with the settings in cura/slic3r/repetier, experimenting with materials etc or just to push some buttons and focus more on the designs then on the machine itself.  I chose the latter but untill the end my main worries were the possible limitations in z-suite.

So I bought I bought the M200 at Ridix, a local official reseller of Zortrax last friday ( good to have a place around the corner were they sell filaments etc). and have been experimentating since  :-)

First impressions:

getting it out of the box: What a well build machine! Feels/looks like a tool and not a toy. Loved the details in the box like the tools.

assembly was very easy (some drawing in the manual were not very clear to me) and had it calibrated 30 minutes after unboxing.

First print.

Just printed a new filament holder because I didn't like the orange one that came with my machine.  Came out in great in Ultra-T except 2 burn marks.

First Challenge:

this is a lamp a recently made from paper, it's a dodecahdron made up of 31 elements.  The paper is subject to humidity, stains etc and I am curious to see if I can print it. You can see it working here: http://www.bertsimons.nl/portfolio/WIP/isoled/  

It also seemed a good practice/challenge to try to  get a 'reproducable' series with 'product' qualities and not just to print a thingiverse thingy.