Printing large flat objects

Hello,

I have a big model to print and was wondering what is the best way to print it - oriented vertical or horizontal (in case of warping and dimensional accuracy). It’s a large prototype consisting of 8 pieces which I will have to glue together. What do You think? All the pieces are a 3mm thick shell (like a car body for example). 

Thank’s for Your help :slight_smile:

Will the part be used? This is a big consideration. If it is meant to take any kind of bending loads, you want the layers to be normal (perpendicular) to the the axis of bending. I'm only an engineer, so one of the artsy people on here can tell you the best way to print it just for looks.  ;)

If I was doing it , I think standing up is your best bet

Part will not be used, it's just for presentation purpose. The surface quality is also not very important. What worries me is the warping and potential problems with assembly.

I'm also thinking UP is the way to go (it's also faster and uses less material).

Thank’s for reply :slight_smile:

Problem with up is that you have minimal contact to raft combined with a tall wall… It may pop off the raft… But on the other hand it is bowed…so it may work…give it a shot!

Will the part be used? This is a big consideration. If it is meant to take any kind of bending loads, you want the layers to be normal (perpendicular) to the the axis of bending. I'm only an engineer, so one of the artsy people on here can tell you the best way to print it just for looks.  ;)

I run into this same scenario often, so let's say this part is going to be used and the bending force is in Z if you lay the part flat on the bed.  Would you want to build it flat also so that the layer lines (weak point) are normal to the direction of the force?