suggestions as to wich programs to use wanted.

greetings.

After much reading and weighing pros and cons i’ve pretty much ended up with the decision im going to order a zortrax.

I have no experience with 3d printing other than having stood in awe since they became available. I have now aquired the cash needed but before i commit and hit the order button i need to make certain i can take advantage of the printer as I intend and that means being able to manage the virtual creation.

So - I would like to hear from you guys.

Wich programs should i get and try to master keeping in mind i am very much an amateur having only dabbled a little bit with 3dstudio and done some work with autocad.

I want something easy to use/learn and able to add some fine detail for texturing.

I much prefer hearing from users like you guys working with the zortrax.

Thanks!

Oh! And by the way;

Price isn’t much of a concern. I much rather prefer to pay for an intuitive smoothly featured program than to figure out a cruder, less intuitive free program.

I have no doubt: even if there are few very impressive free 3D CAD softwares, I suggest to try "Moment of Inspiration" MOI3D (www.moi3d.com).
It is at the same time very easy and powerful to use.
It is not free, I know, but you pay for something that really worth all the moneys you spend.

Then, I usually check my STL files with the free online Microsoft service "modelrepair.azurewebsites.net".

I'm a big fan of Tinkercad. It looks toy-ish at first, but in fact it's capable of quite serious work and it's amazingly intuitive with a very fast learning curve.

Well I use Designspark Mechanical. Powerful easy to use software, but not good for organic models or texturing..

To do parametric desgins that i can after change i use openSCAD

http://www.openscad.org/

To draw designs i use FreeCAD

http://www.freecadweb.org/

Both of them are open Source software

hahah I hear the same programs over and over.